Curriculum Areas

At Rapid Bay we aim to develop self-directed, lifelong learners. Students have access to quality teaching and learning and are encouraged to be the drivers of their own learning journeys. Our school provides access to all areas of the curriculum as described from ACARA below. At Rapid Bay we target the individual learner and together with the student we structure their learning journey from their individualised goals.

From Reception to Year 7, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HASS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Languages

There are three dimensions in the Australian Curriculum:

  • Learning areas
  • General capabilities
  • Cross-curriculum priorities.

Further information about the Australian Curriculum can be found on its website:

Cross Curricula - 21st Century Skills